Day of Chores- Laundry, Maintenance, Catching Up

June 26, 2012

I found WIFI today, so I have posted several days Journaling.

I was tired last night.  I slept till 8am here.  If you know me, you know that is not normal.  But I feel great today.  If you are looking for pictures, there are none today. I did not use the tracker on the SPOT since I was only running around Fairbanks all day.

Today is a day of catching up.  After getting up this morning, I start packing to leave the hotel.  Steve tries to leave to do his laundry but something is wrong with his bike.  His clutch isn’t working right. After looking it over we decide it is low on clutch fluid.  I lend him my bike and he runs to the auto part place.  More fluid fixes it. Good thing it didn’t happen on the haul road at sometime we pulled over for pictures.

I inspect my bike and lube the chain for the millionth time.  I find a nut missing that helps to hold on one of my side cases.  I continue packing.  Once that is done I head to the laundry place near the university.  I do my laundry and while I am there strike up a conversation with a couple from Sweden that is hike across Canada and Alaska.  They figure is will be about another month in Alaska, then back to work in Canada.  They are looking at going up to Prudhoe Bay. It starts raining.

After the laundry, I find a hardware store to get a nut and washer to fix the side case mount. But I don’t put in on because now it is pouring down.  I find a place to eat at Dans Sourdough Café.  I get the special. This is a quarter pound hamburger with a slab of ¼ inch thick ham, 2 fried eggs, 6 slices of bacon, onion and tomato slices on a sour dough bun.  With a side of potato salad of course.  It tasted great.  The food maybe expensive up here, but they believe that you should not go away hungry.

Since it is still pouring down rain, I find a little coffee shop/café on the second floor of a book store that has free WIFI.  It is only a few blocks from the University of Alaska campus.  Now I can get caught up on the journaling.  While I am there, I meet a couple of motorcycle riders and some bicycle riders.  We exchange information.  I meet some of the local people who give me ideas of what to see and where to go to avoid the major tourist.

I now plan to find a camping place to stay the night and hopefully the weather will be clearer tomorrow.  With the rain today, visibility was only about 1 mile, so I would not be able to see some of the things I wanted to.  I will try again tomorrow.  I am thinking of heading toward Whitter, Homer and Valedez.  Maybe some pictures can be taken tomorrow.

4 thoughts on “Day of Chores- Laundry, Maintenance, Catching Up

  1. I have read a lot of ride reports of rides up the Haul Road, and yours was the most descriptive, detailed, and interesting. Thank you for sharing your experiences.

    Gary in Anchorage

  2. If you can take a ride to Seward….interesting town and Homer is another good one. We use to take our charter for fishing out of both of these.

  3. I just noticed you were camped in town, and since it is only about a mile from here I rode over to see if you were still there. Two young guys from PA on V-Stroms said you had left about an hour ago. So whether you are off to see more of Alaska or headed back home now, I hope the rest of your trip goes well.

    Gary in Anchorage
    stromAlaska

Leave a Reply

